

REQUEST FOR CITY COUNCIL AGENDA ITEM

Agenda Date Requested: July 22, 2024			Appropriation			
Requested B	y: <u>Lee Woodwa</u>	ard, City Secretary	Source of Funds:	N/A		
Department:	City Secretary's	office	Account Number:	N/A		
Report	Resolution	Ordinance	Amount Budgeted:	N/A		
•			Amount Requested:	N/A		
			·			

Exhibits: Attendance records

SUMMARY & RECOMMENDATION

Budgeted Item:

O No

Yes

The majority of the City of La Porte board, commission, and committee positions have terms expiring on August 31 of their final year of the respective terms.

Staff liaisons have determined the individuals listed below seek appointment or reappointment. The Fire Code Review Board and the Planning and Zoning Commission are the only positions that are appointed in accordance with specific City Councilmember positions.

The positions that are alternates or involve the movement of alternates to regular positions, if any, are noted.

The most recent attendance records received from staff liaisons follow on successive pages, for reference. Note that some boards, committees, and commissions meet only on an as-needed basis.

Also noted below are appointments to non-City entities, if any.

The City Council is notified several times annually of open positions, most recently on June 2, and when applications are received from individuals seeking appointment. The City's application to serve, Board and Commission Handbook, and other resources are available at *LaPorteTX.gov/Boards* or by contacting the City Secretary's Office at 281-470-5021 or CitySecretary@LaPorteTX.gov.

The individuals up for reappointment below have been contacted by staff or respective Councilpersons and have indicated they would like to be considered for continued service. The Council has asked previously for indications of positions which are alternates and of individuals who serve on more than one board/committee/commission, so those notes are included below.

<u>Building Codes Appeals Board</u> (3-year terms; no alternates)

D. Paul Larson, reappt.

Kent Remmel, reappt. - also serves on TIRZ #1 Board of Directors/La Porte Redevelopment Authority

<u>Ch. 172 Employee, Retiree Insurance and Benefits Board</u> (2-year terms; two alternates, both still open, one for a citizen, one for an employee/retiree)

Sherri Ditrich, Citizen Pos. 1, initial appointment to unexpired term

Economic Alliance (representative to the Board provided for in City's agreement (3.01(m)); new agreement approved at the June 24 meeting)

City Manager Corby Alexander, initial appt. - also being appointed as Governmental Body Representative to the Firefighters' Pension Board

<u>Fire Code Review Board</u> (3-year terms, nominated per Council position; no alternates) Andy Wilborn, District 3 nominee, reappt.

Mark Follis, District 4 nominee, reappt. - also serves on Airport Advisory Board, Building Codes Appeals Board, and Planning & Zoning Commission Lynn Green, Mayor's nominee, reappt.

Firefighters' Pension Board (no term length; no alternates)

City Manager Corby Alexander, initial appt. as the Governmental Body Representative, the only City appointment to the Board - also being appointed as the City representative to the Economic Alliance Board of Directors

<u>La Porte Area Water Authority Board of Directors</u> (2-year terms; no alternates)

Nicole Havard, reappt. - also serves on TIRZ #1 Board of Directors/La Porte Redevelopment Authority

<u>La Porte Development Corporation Board of Directors</u> (2-year terms; no alternates)

Danny Earp, reappt.

Amanda Gerrish, reappt.

Richard Warren, reappt. – also serves on Planning & Zoning Commission Brent McCaulley, reappt.

<u>La Porte Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone Number One (TIRZ #1) Board of Directors/also serve as the La Porte Redevelopment Authority</u> (2-year terms; no alternates)

Barry Beasley, reappt.

Kent Remmel, reappt. - also serves on Building Codes Appeals Board Mark Goodwin, reappt.

New City Hall Ad Hoc Committee (no terms, ad hoc)

Mayor Rick Helton

The timely review of service on City boards, committees, and commissions and consideration of appointments to outside entities reflects the City Council's commitment to good governance, citizen engagement, positive branding and communication, service and facility support, economic development, and overall organizational excellence, thereby supporting each of the adopted Strategic Plan's key strategies.

Governance: The City of La Porte is governed in a transparent, efficient, accountable and responsive manner on behalf of its citizens that actively promotes citizen involvement.

Communications: The City of La Porte will build relationships and showcase our community through communication, technology, training, and branding.

Infrastructure and Utilities: The City of La Porte will have and maintain a strong infrastructure and up to date facilities to continue to provide superior services for our citizens.

Economic Development: The City of La Porte will promote a strong and diverse economy that strengthens the local sales tax and property tax base while also contributing to a high quality of life.

Organizational Excellence: The City of La Porte will operate in a transparent, efficient, accountable, and responsive manner by preparing the organization and the staff for the future, focusing on core services, attracting and retaining the best employees and wise stewardship of financial resources.

ACTION REQUIRED BY CITY COUNCIL

Approve the appointment of individuals nominated for the City boards, committees, and commissions listed herein and as appointees to the outside entities included.



Ch. 172 Employee Retiree Benefits Board Attendance Record

Member	3/29/2023		
Citizen Pos. 1 – Donna O'Conner	X		
Citizen Pos. 2 – Juliane Graham	Absent		
Retiree Rep Aaron Corrales	X		
Employee Rep. –	Vacant		
Finance Rep Michael Dolby	X		
HR Staff Liaison – Matt Hartleib	X		
Legal Staff – Clark Askins	X		
Alt. Pos. 1 – Charles Montgomery	x		
Alt. Pos. 2 – Charles Workgomery	Vacant		
AIL. POS. 2 -	vacant		

Member	3/23/2022	8/2/2022	10/12/2022	11/1/2022
Citizen Pos. 1 – Donna O'Conner	X	X	X	X
Citizen Pos. 2 – Juliane Graham	Absent	Absent	Absent	Absent
Retiree Rep Aaron Corrales	X	X	X	X
Employee Rep. –	Vacant	Vacant	Vacant	Vacant
Finance Rep Michael Dolby	X	X	X	X
HR Staff Liaison – Matt Hartleib	X	X	X	X
Legal Staff – Clark Askins	х	Х	X	X
Alt. Pos. 1 – Charles Montgomery	Absent	Х	X	X
Alt. Pos. 2 –	Vacant	Vacant	Vacant	Vacant

	2020 -2024 Meetings of the La Porte Area Water Authority								
Meeting Dates	2/12/2020	7/15/2020	2/11/2021	7/28/2021	2/10/2022	7/21/2022	2/8/2023	7/19/2023	2/8/2024
Members									
Cambria Beasley -Vice President POS. 1	PRESENT	PRESENT	PRESENT	PRESENT	PRESENT	ABSENT	PRESENT	PRESENT	PRESENT
Stephen Barr -President POS. 2	PRESENT	PRESENT	PRESENT	PRESENT	PRESENT	PRESENT	PRESENT	PRESENT	PRESENT
Nicole Havard - POS. 4							ABSENT	PRESENT	ABSENT
Frank Nance - Secretary POS. 5					PRESENT	PRESENT	PRESENT	ABSENT	PRESENT
Joshua Hollub POS. 3									PRESENT
								PRESENT/	
Doug Martin- Vice President POS. 3	PRESENT	PRESENT	PRESENT	PRESENT	PRESENT	PRESENT	ABSENT	Resigned	
Ken Schlather POS. 5	PRESENT	Resigned	VACANT	VACANT					
Stephanie Bellew POS. 4	ABSENT	PRESENT	PRESENT	ABSENT	ABSENT	Resigned			

			2024 Meetings of the La Porte TIRZ #1					
Meeting Dates	1/25/2024	3/14/2024	4/10/2024	5/9/2024	6/13/2024			
Members								
1 - Peggy Antone								
2 - Barry Beasley		abs			abs			
3 - Alton Porter		abs	abs		abs			
4 - Kent Remmel					abs			
5 - Nicole Havard				abs				
6 - Mark Goodwin								
7 - Rick Helton					abs			
8 - David Janda								
9 - Kristen Lee	abs							