## **RESOLUTION NO. 2024-10**

A RESOLUTION OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF LA PORTE, TEXAS, CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF J. SCOTT PULLIG AS CHIEF AND DEPARTMENT HEAD OF THE LA PORTE POLICE DEPARTMENT, IN ACCORDANCE WITH TEXAS LOCAL GOVERNMENT CODE SEC. 143.013; FINDING COMPLIANCE WITH THE OPEN MEETINGS LAW; AND PROVIDING AN EFFECTIVE DATE HEREOF.

- **WHEREAS,** Section 143.013(a)(1) of the Texas Local Government Code provides that the department head of the police department shall be appointed by the municipality's chief executive officer and confirmed by the municipality's governing body; and
- WHEREAS, after a nationwide search and thorough assessment process, J. Scott Pullig was identified by the City Manager as the top candidate for Chief of Police; and
- WHEREAS, J. Scott Pullig will be appointed by the City Manager to the position of Chief of Police for the La Porte Police Department on April 8, 2024;
- BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF LA PORTE, TEXAS:
- Section 1. That the City Council confirms the appointment of J. Scott Pullig as Chief of Police and department head of the La Porte Police Department.
- **Section 2.** The City Council officially finds, determines, recites and declares that a sufficient written notice of the date, hour, place and subject of this meeting of the City Council is posted at a place convenient to the public at the City Hall of the City for the time required by law preceding this meeting, as required by Chapter 551, Texas Government Code; and that this meeting has been open to the public as required by law at all times during which this Resolution and the subject matter thereof has been discussed, considered and formally acted upon. The City Council further ratifies, approves and confirms such written notice and the contents and posting thereof.
- <u>Section 3.</u> This resolution shall be effective upon its passage and approval.

**PASSED and APPROVED** this the 8<sup>th</sup> day of April 2024.

## CITY OF LA PORTE, TEXAS

Louis R. Rigby, Mayor

ATTEST:

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Lee Woodward, City Secretary

Clark T. Askins, City Attorney